

Our Ref: PQ 35050/23

02nd August 2023

Deputy David Cullinane Dáil Eireann Dublin 2 Sláinte Leanaí Éireann (SLÉ), Herberton, Siúlán San Séamas, Rialto, D08 HP97, Éire Children's Health Ireland (CHI), Herberton, St James's Walk, Rialto, D08 HP97 Ireland

Dear Deputy Cullinane

I refer to your below parliamentary question which has been forwarded to me for attention. Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in issuing a response.

PQ 35050/23: To ask the Minister for Health the impact on waiting lists and waiting times for children with scoliosis and spina bifida for the period where arrangements and a scheme were in place to treat children abroad in hospitals in England, Germany and France; and if he will make a statement on the matter.

Children's Health Ireland (CHI) Response:

Children's Health Ireland (CHI) can advise that in 2017, as part of an outsourcing initiative, families of children with scoliosis and spina bifida were offered the opportunity to have their child's surgery abroad. As part of this initiative, a total of 28 patients had their surgery performed abroad in 2018.

This resulted in 28 patients who were actively waiting for a scheduled surgical procedure with CHI being removed from our waiting lists. This resulted in shorter waiting times for these patients while also facilitating spinal procedures for other patients and enabling more timely access to surgery.

Yours sincerely

Sharon Ryan

Directorate Operations Lead CDA

Email: sharon.ryan@cuh.ie

Our **Mission** is to: Promote and provide child-centred, research-led and learning informed healthcare, to the highest standards of safety and excellence. We will do this in partnership with each other, with children, young people and their families through a network of children's services in Ireland.

CRA Registered Charity Number (RCN): 20202295 Revenue Charitable Status CHY: 22235

Board Members: Prof James Browne (Chairman), Mr Con Cronin, Ms Mary Cryan, Prof Martin Elliott, Ms Catherine Guy, Dr Anne Kilgallen, Dr Gavin Lavery, Mr Bernard McLoughlin, Ms Brigid McManus, Ms Eleanor O'Neill, Mr Sean Sheehan